Stormy Weather

Posted on May 23, 2012

0


It’s dark…

The clouds have formed

The wind blows savagely through the land

Objects get tossed like debris in a desert storm

Yet I stand a tree in the midst of life’s storms

My branches do sway to the call of the winds

The winds though strong unable to fall my leaves

This stormy rain though heavy unable to wash my roots away

Drenched and cold in the fall of this thundery rain

Yet I still stand not willing to sway

Though my leaves dance in the blustery weather

Accommodating a gloomy, dark squally morn

I remain true to my roots

My roots like tentacles

Burrow deep into the soil of time

They ground me through the storms that happen oftentimes

In them I find succor

Though I shiver from standing alone in this storm

I know daybreak will come

And this storm too like others will succumb

Posted in: Poetry