The Uneducated Nigerian

Posted on April 29, 2012

0


Eager and vibrant to learn I am
As a sponge that absorbs this mind can
Teachers willing to give instruction
Governments okay with misdirection
Their misconception is our destruction

The mind of a child, a blackboard
The chalk is missing!
Nothing can be written
The Willingness to learn doesn’t count
When facilities governments discount

Eager and willing to learn I am
Solution to this cancer I wish I am
Black is the easel of my mind
Darkened by the roughshod options
Circumstances given

Eager and willing to learn I am
Cults my tutors have become
Their actions ignoble
Now seen as noble
Asset I thought I was to become,
As Vagabond I know I stand

Eager and willing to learn I am
How am I responsible for the way I stand
Institutions on a holiday
Everyone needing a payday
My home behind prison bars a simple step away

Eager and willing to learn I am
Parents, my education unwillingly shun
Ivy League chosen for the thieving some
Jakande building the poor man’s glum

Eager and willing to learn I am
Offshore coffers
Overflowing with the sorrows of our blessings
I too would share in the trimmings
But I am considered a misgiving by the thieves ruling

Eager and willing to learn I am
Pen and paper an extinct term
Books I no longer need to learn
Loyal subject I cannot claim I am

Posted in: Poetry